Football commits reach double-digits

Football commits reach double-digits

The Saddleback football program was back in the news this week as the football office announced a number of new commitments.  The latest round of commitments brings the program total to 10 for the year.

Four more players from the 2017 squad have reached a decision where they will play next season with Chris Grasso, Dylan Douglass, Kyle Corder and TreMario Bivens all making decisions.

Grasso and Douglass will both transfer to Dixie State University, located in St. George, Utah.  Dixie State is an NCAA DII program that plays in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. 

Grasso (6'5, 285 lbs.) was part of an offensive line that helped the Gauchos complete a program record 64.7% of its passes in 2017, scoring 483 points in in 11 games and averaging 43.9 points-per-game.  He graduated from El Toro High School in 2015.

Douglass (5'11, 180 lbs.) has been a long-snapper for Saddleback for the past two years and was part of a kicking unit this season that was 7-of-11 on field goals and 54-of-58 on extra points.  He graduated from Laguna Hills High School in 2016.

Corder (6'2, 195 lbs.) will continue his playing career at Adams State University, located in Alamosa, Colorado.  He finished with 15 total tackles in 2017 and was third on the team with seven pass break-ups.   Corder graduated from Mission Viejo High School in 2015.  Adams State plays an NCAA DII schedule in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. 

Bivens (6'0, 295 lbs.) was a solid addition to the team this year after playing at Northland College (MN) in 2016.  He made the transition from offense to defense this past season and will continue his playing career at Virginia Union University, located in Richmond, Virginia.  Bevins finished the season with 16 total tackles for the season.  He graduated from Southfield Lathrup High School (MI) in 2014.  Virginia Union plays an NCAA DII schedule in the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

2017 TEAM COMMITS (in alphabetical order)

Joe Babros, North Carolina State
TreMario Bivens, Virginia Union
Kyle Corder, Adams State
Dylan Douglass, Dixie State
Max Gilliam, UNLV
Chris Grasso, Dixie State
Jake Hudson, Toledo
Korey Mariboho, San Jose State
Ryan Nieman, Sioux Falls
Christian Rabay, Lindenwood